Home / About / Partners


Campus Directors

The University of Alabama is the Lead Institution for Alabama LSAMP and Dr. Kevin Whitaker, Executive Vice President and Provost, is the PI of the $5 million grant. Dr. Viola L. Acoff, Associate Dean for Undergraduate and Graduate Programs in the College of Engineering, is the Co-PI and Project Manager for Alabama LSAMP. Dr. Joan Barth, Co-PI and Senior Research Scientist for UA’s Institute for Social Science Research, oversees the detailed social science research study for this project.

The Campus Directors for the Alliance Partner Institutions are:

  • Alabama A&M University – Dr. Jeanette Jones; University Distinguished Professor
  • Miles College – Amanda Plain; Instructor, Natural Science and Mathematics
  • Oakwood University – Dr. Kenneth LaiHing; Dean, School of Arts and Sciences
  • Stillman College – Dr. Mary Jane Krotzer; Dean of Institutional Effectiveness
  • Talladega College – Dr. Raja Surabhi; Assistant Professor
  • The University of Alabama – Dr. Susan Burkett; Alabama Power Foundation Endowed Professor
  • The University of Alabama at Birmingham – Dr. Mubenga Nkashama; Professor, Mathematics
  • The University of Alabama in Huntsville – Dr. Emanuel Waddell; Associate Dean, College of Science
  • University of South Alabama – Dr. John Steadman; Dean, College of Engineering

Partner Institutions

Other Partners

Community Colleges

  • Faulkner State Community College
  • Calhoun Community College
  • Shelton State Community College
  • Jefferson Davis Community College

High Schools

  • Alabama School of Math and Science
  • Alabama School of Fine Arts


  • Mercedes Benz U.S. International
  • Dynetics
  • Alabama Power Company
  • Airbus
  • Evonik
  • SSAB